Ting-Hun: A Chinese Engagement Party

This year my sister is getting married. It both excites and saddens me. Excited because i’m really happy for her, that she found her prince charming that swept her feet. Saddened because I won’t have her on the other side of the bedΒ to share dramas, rants, green and spiteful jokes with.

 

Enough with the drama and on the Ting-hun engagement party haha!

IMG_9693

My sister is the first 2nd generation in our family to gt married so no one had an idea how to rightly execute it (even though we’re a chinese family) since our really knowledgeable traditional grandmother have already passed away..sooo we all relied to Reagan’s mother.

I didn’t knew that ting-hun is a very expensive event -.- Dang! we got to buy all sorts of stuffs we don’t really need just for the sake of the traditional rituals!! But still, we’re still blessed as their family shouldered majority of the costs even though it’s the bride’s family’s responsibility. WHEW!!

IMG_8238

I can’t go into the details as i’m not well versed with the proper terms for everything, but there were a lot of stuffs, weird, waste of money stuffs!!hahaha sorry *bitter* :))) There were also rituals where both my sister and her fiance had to serve teas for the elders of both family and then the jewelry wearing. Moreover, the exchange of varied goodies in a sin-ha container, there were fruits, candies, flowers, chocolates, and so on πŸ™‚ After all the rituals, finally, we ate our lunch! (chinese lauriat style of course!) Yummy!

To those who don’t know what ting-hun is, its an event where both families present their treasures.

The guy’s family gave some jewelry and other stuffs to show to the bride’s family that they can take care of her. Also, as some would say, to thank the bride’s family for raising her up to be their son’s wife.

In exchange, the bride’s family pledges the girl to be wed to the guy with all blessings.

Some also would say that this kind of event is to show the wealth of both families. As to where they stand on the social ladder. Well good thing that Reagan’s family didn’t really made a fuss about our family’s financial status. Again, WHEW!!

Honestly, even with all the expense, I really want to also have ting-hun when i’ll be married. I appreciate and enjoy all those stuffs we experienced. hehe but the odds because of the financial status is popping my bubble. T__T SoΒ just to let it out I joked to my love than we can still have the event, we’ll just borrow everything from my sister..but well yeah he wasn’t glad about it. SADDDDD… :))))

Leave a comment